JHipster Registry

Overview

JHipster Registry是JHipster团队提供的应用程序。与JHipster生成器一样,它是一个开源,Apache 2-licensed应用程序,其源代码在JHipster组织的GitHub上可用:jhipster/jhipster-registry

JHipster Registry具有三个主要功能:

  • 它是一个Eureka服务,用作应用程序的发现服务。这就是JHipster处理所有应用程序的路由,负载均衡和可伸缩性的方式。
  • 它是一个Spring Cloud配置服务,为所有应用程序运行时提供配置。
  • 它还是一台管理服务器,具有用于监视和管理应用程序的仪表板。

所有这些功能都通过基于Angular的现代用户界面,打包到一个便利的应用程序中。

目录

  1. 安装
  2. 使用Eureka进行服务发现
  3. 使用Spring Cloud Config进行应用程序配置
  4. 管理仪表板
  5. 保护JHipster Registry

安装

Spring配置文件

JHipster Registry使用常规的JHipsterdevprodSpring配置文件,以及Spring Cloud Config的标准composite(请参阅官方文档)。

结果是:

  • 使用dev配置文件将与devcomposite配置文件一起运行JHipster Registry。dev配置文件将从文件系统加载Spring Cloud配置,以查找与src/main/resources/config/bootstrap.yml文件中定义的运行目录相对的central-config目录。

  • 使用prod配置文件将运行带有prod配置文件和composite配置文件的JHipster Registry。prod配置文件将从Git存储库加载Spring Cloud配置,该存储库默认为https://github.com/jhipster/jhipster-registry-sample-config。在实际使用中,应该通过在src/main/resources/config/bootstrap-prod.yml文件中重新配置它,或者通过重新配置spring.cloud.config.server.compositeSpring属性来更改此存储库。

JHipster Registry运行后,您可以在Configuration > Cloud Config菜单中检查其配置。请注意,如果您无法登录,则可能是因为JWT签名密钥未正确设置,这表明您的配置不正确。

使用预打包的WAR文件

JHipster Registry在我们的发行页面页面上提供了可执行的WAR文件。

下载WAR文件,并使用您要使用的配置文件(通常是JHipster应用程序)运行它(请参阅关于配置文件的上一节)。例如,要使用存储在central-config目录中的Spring Cloud Config配置运行它:

./jhipster-registry-<version>.jar --spring.security.user.password=admin --jhipster.security.authentication.jwt.secret=my-secret-key-which-should-be-changed-in-production-and-be-base64-encoded --spring.cloud.config.server.composite.0.type=native --spring.cloud.config.server.composite.0.search-locations=file:./central-config

请注意,通过使用JHIPSTER_SECURITY_AUTHENTICATION_JWT_SECRET环境变量或使用如上所述的参数,向启动时的registry提供JWT密钥很重要。另一种可能的方法是在集中式配置源的application.yml文件中设置此值(该文件在启动时由所有应用程序(包括registry)加载)。

请注意,自JHipster 5.3.0起,我们有了一个新的jhipster.security.authentication.jwt.base64-secret属性,该属性更安全,但是由于您可能仍使用旧版本,因此我们也使用jhipster.security.authentication.jwt.secret属性。有关这些属性的更多信息,请参考我们的安全性文档

同样,要使用prod配置文件运行registry,请根据您的设置调整参数,例如:

./jhipster-registry-<version>.jar --spring.profiles.active=prod --spring.security.user.password=admin --jhipster.security.authentication.jwt.secret=my-secret-key-which-should-be-changed-in-production-and-be-base64-encoded --spring.cloud.config.server.composite.0.type=git --spring.cloud.config.server.composite.0.uri=https://github.com/jhipster/jhipster-registry-sample-config

./jhipster-registry-<version>.jar --spring.profiles.active=prod --spring.security.user.password=admin --jhipster.security.authentication.jwt.secret=my-secret-key-which-should-be-changed-in-production-and-be-base64-encoded --spring.cloud.config.server.composite.0.type=git --spring.cloud.config.server.composite.0.uri=https://github.com/jhipster/jhipster-registry --spring.cloud.config.server.composite.0.search-paths=central-config

从源码构造

可以直接从jhipster/jhipster-registry克隆/fork/下载JHipster Registry。由于JHipster Registry也是JHipster生成的应用程序,因此您可以像其他任何JHipster应用程序一样运行它:

  • 使用./mvnw(用于Java服务器)在开发环境中运行它,并使用yarn start(用于管理前端)运行,默认情况下它将使用dev配置文件,并且可以从http://127.0.0.1:8761/访问。

  • 使用./mvnw -Pprod package将其打包到生产环境中,并生成通常的JHipster可执行WAR文件。然后,您可以使用devprod Spring配置文件运行WAR文件,例如:./jhipster-registry-<version>.jar --spring.profiles.active=prod

请注意,要使用devcomposite配置文件,您需要在配置中包含一个central-config目录,因此,如果运行./jhipster-registry-<version>.jar --spring.profiles.active=dev,您将需要建立该目录。

使用Docker

如果您希望从Docker镜像运行JHipster Registry,则可以在Docker Hub上的jhipster/jhipster-registry上找到它。每个微服务src/main/docker目录中已经存在一个用于轻松运行该镜像的docker-compose文件:

  • 运行docker-compose -f src/main/docker/jhipster-registry.yml up以启动JHipster Registry。它将在Docker主机的端口8761上可用,因此如果它在您的计算机上运行,​​则应位于http://127.0.0.1:8761/

请阅读我们的Docker Compose文档以获取有关将JHipster Registry与Docker Compose结合使用的更多信息。

在云端运行

在云端托管JHipster Registry实例非常容易。这在生产中是必需的,但在开发中也很有用(无需在笔记本电脑上运行它)。

请阅读生产中的微服务文档,以了解如何将JHipster Registry部署到Cloud Foundry或Heroku。

使用Eureka进行服务发现

JHipster注册表是Netflix Eureka服务器,它为所有应用程序提供服务发现。

  • 这对于微服务体系结构非常有用:这是网关如何知道哪些微服务可用以及哪些实例已启动的方式
  • 对于所有应用程序,包括monoliths,这是Hazelcast分布式缓存可以自动扩展的方式,请参见Hazelcast缓存文档

使用Spring Cloud Config进行应用程序配置

JHipster Registry是Spring Config Server:启动应用程序时,它们将首先连接到JHipster Registry以获取其配置。网关和微服务都是如此。

此配置是Spring Boot配置,就像在JHipsterapplication-*.yml文件中找到的配置一样,但是它存储在中央服务器中,因此更易于管理。

启动时,您的网关和微服务应用程序将查询Registry的配置服务器,并用在那里定义的属性覆盖其本地属性。

可以使用两种配置源(由spring.cloud.config.server.composite属性定义):

  • native配置,开发中默认配置(使用JHipsterdev配置文件),并且使用本地文件系统。
  • Git配置,该配置在生产中默认使用(使用JHipster prod配置文件),并将配置存储在Git服务器中。这允许使用常用的Git工具来标记,分支或回滚配置,这些工具在此用例中非常强大。

要管理集中式配置,您只需在配置源中添加appname-profile.yml文件,其中appnameprofile对应于您要配置的服务的应用程序名称和当前配置文件。 例如,在gateway-prod.yml文件中添加属性将仅为以prod配置文件启动的名为gateway的应用程序设置这些属性。此外,将为所有应用程序设置application[-dev|prod].yml中定义的属性。

由于网关路由是使用Spring Boot配置的,因此也可以使用Spring Config Server对其进行管理,例如,您可以将应用程序app1-v1映射到v1分支中的 /app1 URL,并将app1-v2映射到/app1 v2分支中的URL。这是升级微服务的好方法,而最终用户不会停机。

使用加密的配置值

JHipster Registry具有特定的configuration > encryption页面,可轻松对配置值进行加密和解密。

要加密配置值(例如,数据库密码),您需要:

  • 下载JCE并按照下载文件中的说明进行安装(仅在使用Oracle JDK时才需要)。
  • bootstrap.yml(而不是application.yml)中设置encrypt.key属性,或在对称密钥密码中使用ENCRYPT_KEY环境变量。

如果一切设置正确,则您应该能够使用特定的Configuration > Encryption页面,并且还可以将您要处理的文本发送到/config/encrypt/config/decrypt端点的POST请求中,并在请求的body中进行操作。

For example: curl localhost:8761/config/encrypt -d mypassword 例如:curl localhost:8761/config/encrypt -d mypassword

密文必须以password= '{cipher}myciphertextafterencryotion'的形式放置在任何*.yml配置文件中,并且在配置服务器将其发送到客户端之前,它将被解密。这样,您的配置文件(存储在Git或“本地”存储在文件系统中)就没有纯明文值。

有关更多信息,请参阅Spring Cloud Config的加密和解密文档

管理仪表板

JHipster Registry提供了用于所有应用程序类型的管理仪表板。一旦应用程序在Eureka服务器上注册,它就会在仪表板中可见。

为了从应用程序访问敏感信息,JHipster Registry将使用JWT令牌(这就是JHipster Registry仅适用于使用JWT的应用程序的原因)。用于签署请求的JWT密钥对于应用程序和JHipster Registry应该是相同的:默认情况下,JHipster Registry通过Spring Cloud Config配置应用程序,这应该是开箱即用的,因为它将发送相同的密钥给所有应用程序。

指标仪表板

指标仪表板使用Micrometer来提供应用程序性能的详细视图。

它提供以下指标:

  • JVM状态
  • HTTP请求
  • cache使用率
  • database连接池

通过单击JVM线程指标旁边的Expand按钮,您将获得正在运行的应用程序的堆栈跟踪,这对于找出阻塞的线程非常有用。

注意:当我们切换JHipster Registry以监视来自Micrometer的度量标准而不是Dropwizard度量标准时,这意味着应将所有使用5.7.2或更早版本生成的JHipster应用程序迁移到Micrometer,以使用JHipster Registry进行监视。如果您不想迁移应用程序,请使用JHipster Registry v4.0.6或更旧的版本。

要迁移应用程序,可以使用JHipster升级子生成器

健康状况仪表板

运行状况仪表板使用Spring Boot Actuator的运行状况端点来提供有关应用程序各个部分的运行状况信息。Spring Boot Actuator提供了许多开箱即用的健康检查,并且添加特定于应用程序的健康检查也非常容易。

配置仪表板

配置仪表板使用Spring Boot Actuator的配置端点来提供当前应用程序的Spring配置的完整视图。

日志仪表板

日志仪表板允许在运行时管理正在运行的应用程序的Logback配置。更改Java软件包的日志级别就像单击按钮一样简单,这在开发和生产中都非常方便。

保护JHipster Registry

默认情况下,JHipster Registry是安全的。您可以使用普通JHipster应用程序中使用的”admin/admin”登录名和密码登录。

应用程序也使用同一”admin”用户连接到JHipster Registry,但使用了HTTP Basic身份验证。因此,如果您的微服务无法访问注册表,并且看到一些”401 authentication error”消息,那是因为您错误地配置了那些应用程序。

为了保护您的JHipster Registry,请执行以下操作:

  • 您必须更改默认的”admin”密码。此密码是使用标准的Spring Boot属性spring.security.user.password设置的,因此您可以使用常规的Spring Boot机制对其进行修改:您可以修改项目的application-*.yml文件,或添加SPRING_SECURITY_USER_PASSWORD环境变量。Docker Compose子生成器使用环境变量方法。
  • 由于您的应用程序将使用HTTP连接到registry,因此保护该连接通道非常重要。有很多方法可以做到这一点,最简单的方法就是使用HTTPS。

The JHipster Registry


The JHipster Registry is a runtime application, provided by the JHipster team. Like the JHipster generator, it is an Open Source, Apache 2-licensed application, and its source code is available on GitHub under the JHipster organization at jhipster/jhipster-registry.

The JHipster Registry has three main purposes:

  • It is a an Eureka server, that serves as a discovery server for applications. This is how JHipster handles routing, load balancing and scalability for all applications.
  • It is a Spring Cloud Config server, that provide runtime configuration to all applications.
  • It is an administration server, with dashboards to monitor and manage applications.

All those features are packaged into one convenient application with a modern Angular-based user interface.


  1. Installation
  2. Service discovery with Eureka
  3. Application configuration with Spring Cloud Config
  4. Administration dashboards
  5. Securing the JHipster Registry


Spring profiles

The JHipster Registry uses the usual JHipster dev and prod Spring profiles, as well as the standard native and gitprofiles from Spring Cloud Config.

As a result:

  • Using the dev profile will run the JHipster Registry with the dev and the native profiles. The native profile will load the Spring Cloud configuration from the filesystem, looking for the central-config directory, which is relative to the running directory.
  • Using the prod profile will run the JHipster Registry with the prod and the git profiles. The git profile will load the Spring Cloud configuration from a Git repository, which is by default In a real-world usage, this repository should be changed, either by reconfiguring it in the src/main/resources/config/bootstrap-prod.yml file, or by reconfiguring the Spring property.

Once the JHipster Registry is running, you can check its configuration in the Configuration > Cloud Config menu. Please note that if you can’t log in, it might be because the JWT signature key is not correctly set up, which is a sign that your configuration isn’t good.

Using the pre-packaged WAR file

The JHipster Registry is available as an executable WAR file on our Releases page.

Download the WAR file, and run it as a usual JHipster application, using the profile you want to use (see the previous section about profiles). For example, to run it using a Spring Cloud Config configuration stored in the central-config directory:

./jhipster-registry-<version>.war --security.user.password=admin

Note that it is important to provide a JWT secret key to the registry on startup, either via the JHIPSTER_SECURITY_AUTHENTICATION_JWT_SECRET environment variable or with arguments as shown above. Another possible way is to set this value in the application.yml file of your centralized configuration source (which is loaded on startup by all your applications including the registry).

Similarly, to run the registry with the prod profile, adapt the arguments to your setup, for example:

./jhipster-registry-<version>.war --security.user.password=admin

Building from source

The JHipster Registry can be cloned/forked/downloaded directly from jhipster/jhipster-registry. As the JHipster Registry is also a JHipster-generated application, you can run it like any other JHipster application:

  • run it in development with ./mvnw (for the Java server) and yarn start (for managing the front-end), it will use by default the dev profile and it will be available at
  • use ./mvnw -Pprod package to package it in production, and generate the usual JHipster executable WAR file. You can then run the WAR file using the dev or prod Spring profile, for example: ./jhipster-registry-<version>.war

Please note that to use the native profile, you need to have a central-config directory with your configuration, so if you run ./jhipster-registry-<version>.war, you need to have that directory set up.

Using Docker

If you’d rather run the JHipster Registry from a Docker image, it is available on Docker Hub at jhipster/jhipster-registry. A docker-compose file to easily run this image is already present within each microservice src/main/docker directory:

  • run docker-compose -f src/main/docker/jhipster-registry.yml up to start the JHipster Registry. It will be available on port 8761 of your Docker host, so if it runs on your machine it should be at

Please read our Docker Compose documentation for more information on using the JHipster Registry with Docker Compose.

Running in the cloud

It’s very easy to host a JHipster Registry instance in the cloud. This is mandatory in production, but this can also be useful in development (there is no need to run it on your laptop).

Please read the “microservices in production” documentation to learn how to deploy the JHipster Registry to Cloud Foundry or to Heroku.

Service discovery with Eureka

The JHipster Registry is a Netflix Eureka server, that provides service discovery for all applications.

  • This is very useful for microservices architectures: this is how the gateways know which microservices are available, and which instances are up
  • For all applications, including monoliths, this is how the Hazelcast distributed cache can automatically scale, see the Hazelcast cache documentation

Application configuration with Spring Cloud Config

The JHipster Registry is a Spring Config Server: when applications are launched they will first connect to the JHipster Registry to get their configuration. This is true for both gateways and microservices.

This configuration is a Spring Boot configuration, like the one found in the JHipster application-*.yml files, but it is stored in a central server, so it is easier to manage.

On startup, your gateways and microservices app will query the Registry’s config server and overwrite their local properties with the ones defined there.

Two kinds of configurations sources are available:

  • A native configuration, which is used by default in development (using the JHipster dev profile), and which uses the local filesystem.
  • A Git configuration, which is used by default in production (using the JHipster prod profile), and which stores the configuration in a Git server. This allows to tag, branch or rollback configurations using the usual Git tools, which are very powerful in this use-case.

To manage your centralized configuration you just need to add appname-profile.yml files in your configuration source where appname and profile correspond to the application’s name and current profile of the service that you want to configure. For example, adding properties in a gateway-prod.yml file will set those properties only for the application named gateway started with a prod profile. Moreover, properties defined in application[-dev|prod].yml will be set for all your applications.

As the Gateway routes are configured using Spring Boot, they can also be managed using the Spring Config Server, for example you could map application app1-v1 to the /app1 URL in your v1 branch, and map application app1-v2 to the /app1 URL in your v2 branch. This is a good way of upgrading microservices without any downtime for end-users.

Using encrypted configuration values

The JHipster Registry has a specific configuration > encryption page to allow easy encryption and decryption of configuration values.

To encrypt configuration values (for example, database passwords) you need to:

  • download the JCE and install it by following the instructions in the downloaded files (this is only required if you are using the Oracle JDK).
  • set the encrypt.key property in bootstrap.yml (not application.yml) or use the ENCRYPT_KEY environment variable with your symmetric key passphrase.

If everything is setup correctly, you should be able to use the specific Configuration > Encryption page, and also send POST requests to /config/encrypt and /config/decrypt endpoints with the text you want to manipulate in the body of the requests.

For example: curl localhost:8761/config/encrypt -d mypassword

The cipher text must be placed in any *.yml configuration file, in the form password= '{cipher}myciphertextafterencryotion' and it will be decrypted by the config server before sending it to its clients. This way your configuration files (stored in Git or stored “natively” on your filesystem) do not have plain text values.

For more information, please refer to Spring Cloud Config’s Encryption and Decryption documentation.

Administration dashboards

The JHipster Registry provides administration dashboards, which are used for all application types. As soon as an application registers on the Eureka server, it will become available in the dashboards.

In order to access sensitive information from the applications, the JHipster Registry will use a JWT token (this is why the JHipster Registry only works for applications using JWT). The JWT key used to sign the request should be the same for the applications and the JHipster Registry: as by default the JHipster Registry configures applications through Spring Cloud Config, this should work out-of-the-box, as it will send the same key to all applications.

The metrics dashboard

The metrics dashboard uses Dropwizard metrics to give a detailed view of the application performance.

It gives metrics on:

  • the JVM
  • HTTP requests
  • methods used in Spring Beans (using the @Timed annotation)
  • database connection pool

By clicking on the eye next to the JVM thread metrics, you will get a stacktrace of the running application, which is very useful to find out blocked threads.

The health dashboard

The health dashboard uses Spring Boot Actuator’s health endpoint to give health information on various parts of the application. Many health checks are provided out-of-the-box by Spring Boot Actuator, and it’s also very easy to add application-specific health checks.

The configuration dashboard

The configuration dashboard uses Spring Boot Actuator’s configuration endpoint to give a full view of the Spring configuration of the current application.

The logs dashboard

The logs dashboard allows to manage at runtime the Logback configuration of the running application. Changing the log level of a Java package is as simple as clicking on a button, which is very convenient both in development and in production.

Securing the JHipster Registry

The JHipster Registry is secured by default. You can login using the usual “admin/admin” login and password that are used in normal JHipster applications.

Applications also connect to the JHipster Registry using that same “admin” user, but use HTTP Basic authentication. So if your microservices cannot access the registry, and you see some “401 authentication error” messages, it is because you have misconfigured those applications.

In order to secure your JHipster Registry:

  • You must change the default “admin” password. This password is set using the standard Spring Boot property security.user.password, so you can use the usual Spring Boot mechanisms to modify it: you could modify the project’s application-*.yml files, or add a SECURITY_USER_PASSWORD environment variable. The Docker Compose sub-generator uses the environment variable method.
  • As your applications will connect to the registry using HTTP, it is very important to secure that connection channel. There are many ways to do it, and the easiest one is probably to use HTTPS.